Wisconsin Rapids Deanery

of the Diocese of La Crosse, Wisconsin

About the Wisconsin Rapids Deanery

The Wisconsin Rapids Deanery is comprised of 11 parishes in south Wood County and Adams County.

Parishes of a diocese are gathered into deaneries in order to promote the joint pastoral action and the best possible distribution of ministry, and to provide for the pastoral care of the priests serving in each area of the diocese. The care of the deanery is confided by the diocesan bishop, after consultation with the priests of the deanery, to one of the priests ministering in the deanery. ("On Consultation in the Parish and Deanery," Diocese of La Crosse, 1985)

In order to foster joint pastoral action and good pastoral planning, in particular, the dean will need the assistance of all the faithful of the deanery. The Deanery Pastoral Council is the stable representative body through which, by means of consultation, such assistance can be provided to the dean. The members of the Deanery Pastoral Council, together with and under the headship of the dean, form the policies and programs which will help toward the best possible ministry in the deanery. ("On Consultation in the Parish and Deanery")

There are 13 deaneries in the Diocese of La Crosse, and each one represents a geographic group of parishes.

The parishes of the deanery are:

Our Lady Queen of Heaven, Wisconsin Rapids
St. Lawrence, Wisconsin Rapids
St. Vincent de Paul, Wisconsin Rapids
SS. Peter and Paul, Wisconsin Rapids
St. Philip, Rudolph
Sacred Heart, Nekoosa
St. Alexander, Port Edwards
St. Joachim, Pittsville
St. James, Vesper
Holy Rosary, Sigel
St. Joseph, Adams

The Deanery Pastoral Council generally meets three or four times each year. Although meeting dates are subject to change, they normally are held on the fourth Thursday of the months of September (the start of the program year), January, March, and June (if needed), at 7 p.m. at Assumption High School in Wisconsin Rapids.

There are four central areas of pastoral consultation on the parish, deanery and diocesan levels. They are: Family Life, Sacred Worship, Catholic Education and Social Justice.

It is recommended that each parish form committees for each of those areas. Similar committees are formed on the deanery level. Each committee has a chairperson.

Besides the committee chairs, membership on the Deanery Pastoral Council includes the clergy serving in the deanery, up to two representatives of the laity from each parish, a representative of the members of the institutes of consecrated life serving in the deanery, and the deanery representative to the Diocesan Pastoral Council.

The Deanery Pastoral Council, especially through the effort of its committees, provides a variety of special training and faith-building opportunities for all the parishes of the deanery.